Call (713) 224-4000


Home » DWI Lawyer » Galveston

Galveston

DWI Attorney | (713) 224-4000

What Can I Expect After a driving while intoxicated arrest?

When you are arrested in Texas for DWI, your driver’s license will be taken.

You will enter into a whirlwind of complex timelines and court procedures. After you make bail and leave jail, you will find yourself facing a rapidly approaching court date.

 

You must move quickly to deal with the DWI court process.

There are important deadlines to consider in dealing with a DWI and your best chance to minimize the negative consequences of an arrest is to hire an experienced attorney as soon as possible.

You only have fifteen days to save your TXDL

A drunk driving arrest can happen to anyone. Many people do not realize that a conviction for driving while intoxicated will remain on your criminal record forever.

However, it is possible to defeat DWI / DUI charges in Texas.

A typical DWI can be charged anywhere from a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a possible penalty of 180 days in jail, up to a 3rd Degree felony, which carries a potential jail term between 2 and 10 years.

The punishment will be more severe if an accident involving DWI results in a person’s death. For example, Intoxication Manslaughter is a 2nd Degree felony and is punishable by between 2 and 20 years in jail. If you’ve been arrested for DWI, The Law Office of Daniel Lazarine can help keep you informed by breaking down the range of charges against you.

texas-dwi-penalties

What sets DWI apart from many other kinds of crimes a person can be charged with is the range of other factors you can be force to deal with as a result of a DWI conviction.

There are the obvious consequences possible jail time, fines, suspension of your driver’s license but you may also face mandatory DWI education courses, community service, evaluations for substance abuse, the installation of an ignition interlock device, and much more. With such a dramatic range of possible outcomes, it is easy to see why the guiding hand of an attorney could help make sense of the DWI process.

At The Law Office of Daniel Lazarine, that’s exactly what we want to provide you when you face DWI issues in Galveston County.

License Suspension

One frequent consequence of a DWI arrest is the confiscation of your license. You should receive a Temporary Driving Permit, a piece of yellow paper that is valid for 40 days after you are arrested. On the 41st day after you are arrested, your license will automatically be suspended if you have taken no action.

If your BAC is found to be over .08, a typical suspension is 90 days. If you refuse to take a breathalyzer test or give a blood sample, you are more likely to receive a 180 day suspension. These suspensions can be much more severe if you have previous DWI arrests on your record.

For a consultation regarding your DWI arrest, call The Law Office of Daniel Lazarine at (713) 224-4000.

Comments are closed..